Anrich Nortje, Aiden Markram and Shabnim Ismail shortlisted for annual South Africa Cricket Awards

Pacer Anrich Nortje, batsman Aiden Markram and female all-rounder Shabnim Ismail are among the many Proteas cricketers who were nominated on Monday for the annual Cricket South Africa (CSA) awards in various categories. According to the ASC, the board of directors properly recognizes its main male and female players who kept the flag flying during extremely difficult times of COVID-19 with the announcement of nominations for the annual awards.

The CSA said it was an exceptional year for the women’s team which achieved a first-ever white ball double against India on the subcontinent and achieved a similar result at home against Pakistan in a restricted program. Proteas’ men have had mixed results against England, Sri Lanka and Pakistan as they entered a new era following the retirement in recent years of many legends from the game. Unsurprisingly, the four nominations for the male cricketer of the year – Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Anrich Nortje and Rassie van der Dussen – have never won the award before.

The Momentum Proteas paint a picture of a much larger experience with Shabnim (2015), Sune Luus (2017) and Laura Wolvaardt (2020), all previous recipients of the SA Cricketer of the Year award with the fourth member of this named quartet being Lizelle. Lee, currently ranked No. 1 in the world in One-Day International (ODI) cricket. “I have the great pleasure and privilege to congratulate all of the nominees as we celebrate the achievements of our Proteas Men and Momentum Proteas Teams,” said Pholetsi Moseki, Interim CEO of CSA.

“I am also delighted to announce that the Interim Board of Directors has approved a new award named after one of our legends: the Makhaya Ntini Power of Cricket Award.” “Let us also not forget to thank all of these wonderful, selfless people who work diligently behind the scenes to create opportunities for our top cricketers to excel. It has been a difficult year in the new normal resulting from the Covid pandemic. -19 and we also owe thanks to our outstanding medical team for making cricket possible internationally and nationally, ”added Moseki.

The other Proteas male players nominated in the different categories are Tabraiz Shamsi (T20 International Cricketer of the Year), Faf du Plessis (KFC Streetwise Award), David Miller (One-Day International Cricketer of the Year), Janneman Malan (International Newcomer of the Year, T20 International Cricketer of the Year and SA Fans’ Player of the Year). Dean Elgar (Cricketer of the Year), George Linde (International Newcomer of the Year, KFC Streetwise Award), Lizaad Williams (International Newcomer of the Year), Andile Phehlukwayo (International Cricketer of a Day of the Year), Kagiso Rabada (SA Fans Player of the Year) and Kyle Verreynne (SA Fans Player of the Year).

In the women’s category, the other nominees are Tazmin Brits and Anneke Bosch (both Momentum Women’s T20 International Cricketer of the Year), Marizanne Kapp (Momentum Women’s One-Day International Cricketer of the Year) and Nonkululeku Mlaba (Player of the year fans of the SA). The CSA awards jury is made up of: Jeremy Fredericks (leader), Crystal Arnold, Makhaya Ntini, Clinton du Preez, Lungani Zama and Natalie Germanos with statistical data from Andrew Samson.

The various winners, including the prestigious SA male and female player awards, will be named in a social media takeover on May 31. (ANI)

(This story was not edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

About Douglas Torres

Check Also

QUOTES-Tennis-Reaction to Federer announcing his retirement

Here is a summary of the reaction of Roger Federer, 20 times Grand Slam champion …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.